feedback button
Saturday, 22nd June 2024

Irish Born Chinese

Sundays @ Noon Concert Series (Sept 25th)

Created Tuesday, 20th September 2011, 15:27 by Whykay
Admission Free

MUSIC 21 presents

Pavlos Kanellakis Guitar

M. Ohana   (1913 - 1992): Tiento
M. de Falla (1876 - 1946): Homenaje 
H. Villa-Lobos (1887 - 1959): Etudes No5, No 11 and No12
F. Martin (1890 - 1974): Quatre Pieces Breves
G. Kontogiorgos (1945): Guitar Concerto - Cadenza
H. Villa-Lobos: Guitar Concerto - Cadenza
J. de Bromhead (1945): Gemini
T. Teloglou (1970): Delay and Denial (World Premiere)
J. Buckley (1951): Sonata for Guitar No 2

Described by the two legendary guitarists Oscar Ghiglia and John Feeley as one of the finest and most promising guitarists of his generation, Pavlos Kanellakis took up the classical guitar with Elena Papandreou at the Philippos Nakas Conservatory.In 2003, after studying three years with Oscar Ghiglia, he completed his Master studies at the Music Academy in Basel, Switzerland and got the Solisten Diplom , the Academy's highest grade.Over the last 15 years he is in collaboration with the great Greek contemporary composer Nikos Mamangakis and since then he has been recording the most of his music for solo  guitar for the label Idaia. He has given concerts in Greece, Switzerland, Germany, Netherlands,Austria, Italy, Latvia, Esthonia, Ireland and among the festivals that he has participated is Gidon Kremer’s string festival, Internationales Kammermusikfest Lockenhaus. A prize winner of national and international guitar competitions, he has received 4 first prizes for his interpretation on the music of J.S.Bach among them the Gianluigi Fia Prize, at the prestigious Gargnano International Guitar Competition. Since 2007 he has been studying with professor John  Feeley at the Dublin Institute of  Technology in Ireland where he is also completing his PhD studies.

For further information contact 
Gavin O’Sullivan
ph: +353-87-2456971

The Sundays @ Noon Concert Series is funded by Dublin City Council and grant aided by The Arts Council/ An Chomhairle Ealaíon.