feedback button
Sunday, 7th February 2016

Irish Born Chinese

Winter Solstice

Monday, 21st December 2015, 23:34 by whykay | Comments
This year's Chinese Winter Solstice (Tung Zi, 冬節) falls on Dec 22. Traditionally, it's the time for families to get together for dinner which includes having some dumplings (Tong Yuen, 湯圓 in Chinese). I only found out about this when I was in Hong Kong, we never really did this here in Ireland with my family. But I will make some 湯圓 tomorrow. 

You can find out more about Chinese Winter Solstice via wikipedia.org/wiki/Dongzhi_Festival.

3
Finally I would like to wish everyone a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! 

I will try and post more stories here and if you want to contribute, do drop me a note via http://irishbornchinese.com/feedback/.
A big Happy New Year to you all by whykay_g Tuesday, 30th December 2014, 16:13
Interesting data maps on London by whykay_g Wednesday, 12th November 2014, 10:38
Happy Mid-Autumn Festival by whykay_g Wednesday, 10th September 2014, 02:10
Single visa for Asian visitors to Ireland and Britain by whykay_g Friday, 20th June 2014, 14:20
Defence Forces seek diverse community in their recruitment drive by whykay_g Sunday, 16th March 2014, 22:26
CNY greetings in Cantonese by whykay_g Thursday, 30th January 2014, 21:18

Ching Ming

Thursday, 12th March 2015, 01:41 by whykay_g
I'll be heading home for Ching Ming, anyone else in Ireland observe this tradition?

Gung Hei Fat Choi!

Wednesday, 18th February 2015, 23:16 by whykay_g
Happy new year! Tis the year of the goat/sheep.

Jackie Chan's tour of Hong Kong

Tuesday, 3rd February 2015, 12:58 by whykay_g
Jackie Chan's tour of Hong Kong