feedback button
Thursday, 11th February 2016

Irish Born Chinese

Happy Chinese New Year!

Sunday, 7th February 2016, 16:21 by whykay | Comments
IBC - CNY 2016

It's the Year of Monkey! I would like to wish everyone "恭喜發財" (Gung Hei Fat Choi) which means "Happiness and Prosperity", and "步步高陞" (Bo Bo Goh Sing) which means "Steady rise to high places" e.g. promotions.
 

What's happening around Ireland

I can't seem to find anything happening around Ireland, if people have more information, please share in the comments. Thanks in advance.

If you haven't dropped into Dublin city this weekend, there's still a host of events held to celebrate Chinese New Year from Feb 6th to 21st. You can find out more information via http://www.dublinchinesenewyear.com.

I was wandering around CHQ on Saturday, and came across a group of girls all dressed up for a performance but was having some lunch beforehand, I asked for their photos and they were performing for CICA (Chinese Irish Cultural Academy). Here's to a fantastic new year! If you like to get involved with Irish Born Chinese, email me at [email protected]
Jackie Chan's tour of Hong Kong by whykay_g Tuesday, 3rd February 2015, 12:58
A big Happy New Year to you all by whykay_g Tuesday, 30th December 2014, 16:13
Interesting data maps on London by whykay_g Wednesday, 12th November 2014, 10:38
Happy Mid-Autumn Festival by whykay_g Wednesday, 10th September 2014, 02:10
Single visa for Asian visitors to Ireland and Britain by whykay_g Friday, 20th June 2014, 14:20
Defence Forces seek diverse community in their recruitment drive by whykay_g Sunday, 16th March 2014, 22:26

Winter Solstice

Monday, 21st December 2015, 23:34 by whykay
This year's Chinese winter solstice falls on Dec 22.

Ching Ming

Thursday, 12th March 2015, 01:41 by whykay_g
I'll be heading home for Ching Ming, anyone else in Ireland observe this tradition?

Gung Hei Fat Choi!

Wednesday, 18th February 2015, 23:16 by whykay_g
Happy new year! Tis the year of the goat/sheep.